PB & Jenny

A twist to a favorite American standard. My thoughts on new adventures, also with a twist.

Dating horror stories – let’s share February 9, 2008

With Valentine’s Day quickly approaching, I can’t help but think about romance, relationships, and dating. While having great dates are the goal (with 2nd date possibility, and maybe leading to a relationship), nothing can beat a bad date story. I thought it would be funny to have people share their worst date experience(s).

I amazingly don’t have any that stick out in my head as absolute horrors.  I have definitely had dates though where I got turned off by quirky actions or personality traits.

For example, in college I got asked out by my HOT grad student waiter when having a nice dinner in downtown Ann Arbor with a group of my friends.  I was really excited about it. In addition to his good looks, he seemed to have a fun personality, was smart enough to be in U-M grad school, and he was taking me out to Greektown in Detroit.  This was a real date (no frat boy invite to come party at their house), with a sophisticated older man.  Woo hoo!

I couldn’t help but be turned off when he put on driving gloves after picking me up.  First of all, he wasn’t in any special souped up, expensive, or sporty car.  It was an older model, 4 door.  Secondly, he never even went above the speed limit!  That part drove me absolutely nuts.  Finally, when we parked he had to put “the club” on his car.  Puh-leaze.

One of my favorite worst date horror stories happened to my sister.  I was there the night she met this guy (another waiter – runs in the family) when we were having a family celebration dinner.  Again, he was very cute and seemed personable.

They ended up meeting for coffee about a week later.  He spilled his whole life story immediately.  This covered the fact that he had 3 kids by 3 different women, but had only married one of them (I think he was about 25 years old).  However, they had obviously since divorced, but remained great friends and worked together.He shared that his ex-wife had seen my sister at the restaurant, and convinced him to try asking her out.  He wanted to know if my sister would be OK with such an arrangement, and allow him to remain friends as well as work with his ex while they dated.

Then, he proceeds to say he used to have a big drug problem, but now has it mainly kicked.  He ends with saying that he has to wear a tether (hikes up pant leg to display) due to drunken driving incidents, and so does not drive at all presently.

My sister drives him home so that he didn’t have to walk the mile or so back to his place.  Then, made a crazy bad judgment call to come in to his apartment to use the bathroom.  Nothing bad happened, but it could have. After she used the bathroom, he introduced her to his roommate (his uncle), and excused himself to use the bathroom.

While she was talking to the sketchy looking uncle, he just dropped his head down in mid-sentence and stopped talking, all the while precariously holding a burning cigarette. Something loud on TV got the uncle’s attention; he picked his head back up, and then resumed the conversation.  The same thing happened a couple more times and she’s trying to figure out this weirdness.  She’s also worrying about the cigarette and it potentially burning the couch/house down.

At this point, she hears the shower go on in the bathroom! Finally, her date comes out, says he’s sorry he took so long but figured he was near the shower, so he might as well freshen up.  WTF!?

He then asked if she’d noticed anything about his uncle, and explained that he’s a narcoleptic.  My sister couldn’t get out of there fast enough.

I think it will be pretty hard to top my sister’s story, but you never know.  Thanks in advance for sharing your stories.

 

7 Responses to “Dating horror stories – let’s share”

  1. Allison Says:

    My freshman year of college, I had a horrendous date with a guy named Dan. Dan invited me to his apartment for a “home-cooked” meal because he was low on funds. I can understand this, but the home-cooked meal was a box of Kraft macaroni and cheese. I like macaroni with the best of them, but at least throw in some sliced hot-dogs. Anyway, afterwards he proceeded to woo me by drinking beer and reading his biology text-book out loud. He was an insanely good looking man, so I didn’t expect this at all. My superficiality for looks decreased dramatically afterwards, and my pre-screening for personality standards increased. Thankfully, I got good looks and a great personality (though no drawing skills) with my husband.

  2. raincoaster Says:

    This won me a nice little book prize from Two Dollar Radio, which is frankly the only glory this Vancouverite has ever gotten out of the Manhattan literary establishment, aside from the glories of Gawker commenter status.

    Bad date!

    I should have known it was going to be a long night when he asked me if I minded going out “after rush hour, when the bus fare goes down.”

    He was tall. He was handsome. He was fit. He was educated, intelligent, in law school.

    He was in love with Rebecca.

    How do I know this? He told me. At length.

    In the restaurant, he insisted on ordering a particular dessert wine with the main course. Bewildered, I wondered if it was some new foodie fad. No, he said, it was because it was called “Sweet Rebecca,” and that was his ex-girlfriend’s name.

    She dropped him. She was cruel, and sweet, and had hair like golden silk, or so I was informed. When not explaining how perfect she had been, he spent many a long, silent moment staring into the glass and murmuring “Sweet Rebecca.”

    At one point he pulled out a ten-dollar bill and showed me the family resemblance to John A. MacDonald, to which I could only reply, “Yes, one of Canada’s truly great alcoholics.” It was a little too late to impress me by then. And he’d drunk most of the wine, although I could have used a Martini or four, myself.

    On the way home, he borrowed bus fare; I never intended to see him again, however decorative he may have been, but at a dollar seventy-five to get rid of him it was a steal. On the long, no, endless ride home, he had one more golden memory for me. Halfway home, he slowly removed his ski gloves and proceeded, methodically, to pick his nose.

  3. bookbabie Says:

    How about spending the second night of your honeymoon at a crappy cabin owned by a guy that once had a mad crush on you while your new husband, “the guy”, and various other drunken guys played poker. It wasn’t planned of course, we were just stopping by, but as the night wore on it got very late and we were in the middle of nowhere so we stayed. New hubby never lived that one down:)

  4. Jenny Says:

    I’m posting for 2 people that shared with me in a forum:

    1. http://stonehead.wordpress.com/

    I’m not sharing bad date experiences.

    1. Too many.
    2. Too unbelievable—eg, start with a blind date who’s wearing a leather leotard, a tutu and spike-heeled patent leather boots.
    3. Too scary—eg, one woman spend most of the date smoking and then stubbing out the cigarettes on her arms.

    I get PTSD just thinking about some of the women who asked me out…

    2. http://dissfunktional.wordpress.com/

    As a teen I had a date with a guy that had a black car with the plates EJAQL8. While we were out he disclosed one of idols was Charles Manson. I slipped to a payphone while he was in the bathroom and had my brother pick me up. He scared the crap out of me.

    His plates were recalled by the DMV. Too many complaints from other drivers, said he, when he was dumb enough to call for a second date.

  5. Cat V Says:

    How about the date that never even starts. I was 16, I met the 17- year old boy at the movies, and on our first date, he pulls up in an old gray extended- cab van. My dad is sitting next to me on the porch and we look at each other. Guess who did not go on the date…

  6. Greger Says:

    Yuck, I hope I never encounter such people.


Leave a Reply

